10 Gilas Players, 2 Coaches suspended by FIBA

Gilas Pilipinas vs Australia Brawl Sanctions

FIBA has issued sanctions on both Philippines and Australia regarding the Gilas Pilipinas vs Australia Boomers Brawl last July 2 at the Philippine Arena.

For inciting unsportsmanlike behavior (in brackets the number of games of the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 Qualifiers):
-Japeth Aguilar and Matthew Wright (1 game each)
-Terence Romeo, Jayson Castro, Andray Blatche and Troy Rosario (3 games each)
-Roger Pogoy, Carl Bryan Cruz and Jio Jalalon (5 games each)
-Calvin Abueva (6 games, due also to prior unsportsmanlike behavior in a FIBA competition)
-Assistant Coach Jong Uichico (3 games)
-Head Coach Chot Reyes (1 game plus CHF10,000 = approx. PHP534K)

Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) was also sanctioned for the unsportsmanlike behavior of its delegation members and of its public, as well as for insufficient organization of the game:
-Philippines will play the next home game behind closed doors while a ban for two more home games has been placed under a probationary period of 3 years
-Disciplinary fine of CHF250,000 = approx. PHP13 Million

Watch Gilas Pilipinas vs Australia Brawl Video

For inciting unsportsmanlike behavior
-Chris Goulding (1 game)
-Thon Maker (3 games)
-Daniel Kickert (5 games)

Basketball Australia was fined CHF100,000 = approx. PHP5.3 Million for the unsportsmanlike behavior of its players and for abusing and/or tampering of equipment, after having removed floor stickers from the court on the eve of the game.

Also sanctioned were the referees, they shall be removed with immediate effect from the FIBA Elite Program and shall not be nominated to any international competitions organized or recognized by FIBA (including at Zone and Sub-zone level) for a period of one year.

Read Official Statement by FIBAFIBA issues sanctions following Philippines-Australia game

One Response to 10 Gilas Players, 2 Coaches suspended by FIBA

  1. Dirty Harry says:

    Its time for Tab Baldwin to take over the program.

    2nd round lineup:
    C- Fajardo, Slaughter
    PF- Standhardinger, Almazan, Erram
    SF- Norwood, Santos
    SG- Lassiter, Lee
    PG- Tenorio, Amer, Thompson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.