2014 FIBA World Cup System of Competition

2014 FIBA World Cup System of Competition

2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup from August 30 to September 14, 2014 in Spain.

2014 FIBA World Cup System of Competition

Preliminary Round (Group Phase)
Group A – Spain, Serbia, France, Brazil, Egypt, Iran
Group B – Philippines, Senegal, Puerto Rico, Argentina, Greece, Croatia
Group C – Dominican Republic, Turkey, USA, Finland, New Zealand, Ukraine
Group D – Slovenia, Lithuania, Angola, South Korea, Mexico, Australia

Each team will play all the other teams in its own group. Top 4 teams from each group will qualify for the Final Phase. Last 2 from each group will return home. Total of 60 Games.

Final Phase
Round of 16
Game 61: C3 v D2
Game 62: C1 v D4
Game 63: A3 v B2
Game 64: A1 v B4
Game 65: C4 v D1
Game 66: C2 v D3
Game 67: A4 v B1
Game 68: A2 v B3

The 8 winners in the Round of 16 will qualify for the Quarterfinals and The 8 losers in the Round of 16 will return home.

Game 69: Winner 61 v Winner 62
Game 70: Winner 65 v Winner 66
Game 71: Winner 63 v Winner 64
Game 72: Winner 67 v Winner 68

The 4 winners of the Quarterfinals will qualify for the Semifinals

Game 73: Winner 69 v Winner 70
Game 74: Winner 71 v Winner 72

The 2 winners of the Semifinals will qualify for the Finals. The 2 losers of the Semifinals will play for Third-Place.

Third-Place Game
Game 75: Loser 73 v Loser 74

Game 76: Winner 73 v Winner 74

* Photo above from fiba.com

5 Responses to 2014 FIBA World Cup System of Competition

  1. pao says:

    if gilas want to win even 1 game,dicipline,all around game,helping quick defense and yhe tree point shooter must explode

  2. keant says:

    go gilas pilipinas ^_^

  3. Jeiel says:

    Go pilipinas

  4. Jeiel says:

    GO pilipinas puso

  5. frelejohnfred caex says:

    go gilas laban pilipinas……………..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.