Australia – 2017 FIBA Asia Cup Champions

Australia - 2017 FIBA Asia Cup Champions

Australia defeated Iran, 79-56 in the Finals of the 2017 FIBA Asia Cup as they will take home the 1st ever FIBA Asia Cup Trophy. Starting this year, FIBA combined Asia and Oceania into one tournament which will take place every 4 years.

Brad Newley led Australia with 18 points but it was Hamed Haddadi of Iran who was named tournament MVP. No Gilas Pilipnas player in the 2017 FIBA Asia Cup All-Star Five which includes Mohammad Jamshidi and Hamed Haddadi (Iran), Shae Ili (New Zealand), Oh Sekeun (South Korea) and Fadi El Khatib (Lebanon).

South Korea took the bronze Medal after defeating New Zealand, 80-71 while China took 5th place after they defeated host Lebanon by just 1 point, 79-78. Philippines finished 7th place after defeating Jordan. Watch Gilas Pilipinas vs Jordan FIBA Asia Full Highlights

Congratulations Australia!

Photo above from

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.